My name is Albert. I am a very sweet 10-pound, 10-year-old male Maltese/Poodle mix who is hoping to find a forever home with someone who can accept my quirks in exchange for my loving companionship (and my foster family says to add that I am adorable and bring lots of joy). I am completely deaf, so I can be easily startled if I do not see you coming to pet me or pick me up and for this reason, I should be in a home without children under 12 years old. My deafness may explain why I also have some anxiety around other pets and need to be in a home where I can be the only pet. On the plus side, I have no problem with thunder, fireworks, or other loud noises!

I have some cloudiness in one eye that may affect my vision somewhat and my legs are a little weak sometimes, so I cannot jump on and off beds and couches (though I love to use pet stairs if they are wide enough for me to stand on each before going to the next and they are not too steep). Any house stairs should probably be gated off so I don’t fall, but I love to go for walks and I still sometimes get the zoomies and run around as though I think I am a puppy again. I can get anxious and bark and cry when I can’t see my people, so my perfect home is one where someone is home most of the time (or can take me with them when they go) and does not live in an apartment where I might disturb neighbors if I am left alone. Otherwise, I am quiet and spend quite a bit of the day sleeping, occasionally in your arms or lap, if you want to hold me, though I don’t like to be held or petted all the time and I might get a bit grouchy when I’ve had enough.

I am great at sleeping through the night as long as I am in a place where I can see that my person or people are nearby. I am trained to go on potty pads but I will also go outside in a fenced-in area or on a leash as well. If you are looking for a constant companion and think you have the perfect forever home for me, please contact SBRET. I have been neutered and microchipped, I’m up-to-date with my vaccinations, and I’m on heartworm and flea prevention. My adoption fee is $100.