Hi, my name is Bambi. I am a 6-pound female Chihuahua mix and I'm about a year old. Before I got rescued, I lived in a house with lots and lots of other little dogs. It was gross! We didn't go outside or learn to walk on leashes. We didn't go to the vet or meet new people. None of us were spayed or neutered so we were having lots of puppies. I even had puppies! I am too young to have been a mom! When the animal control officer took me and my friends away from our house we went to the animal shelter. Holy cow, that was scary! I had never been away from home and I didn't know where I was or what was happening. When my foster mom came to meet me I just sat in her lap shaking. When she put me down I hid in the corner. My foster mom was worried too. She had never fostered a dog who came from a hoarding situation. She was afraid I would bark all the time, not learn to potty outside, and be very hard to find a home for. Well, she doesn't feel that way now! It did not take me long to figure out that my foster home and family are not scary at all!

I love having a big fenced-in yard, a soft bed to cuddle on, bones to chew, and laps to sit on. I am doing a really good job learning how to go potty outside and will use a potty pad if I can't get out. I sleep quietly in a crate with my foster friend at night. I learned my name really well and I will come when you call. I do bark some if I'm lonely or hear a strange noise. I'm still practicing leash walking and I'm doing pretty well. My foster mom thinks I have adjusted so well that I am ready to be adopted! My ideal home will have another dog to keep me company and to help show me the ropes. I'd also really like a fenced yard. Sometimes I run fast through the grass just because it is fun. My previous home had kids so I should be okay with older gentle children. I also need someone who is committed to reinforcing my good potty habits and who understands I will be a little shy at first but will gain confidence quickly. If you think that is you please fill out an online application. I have been spayed, microchipped and I'm up to date on my vaccinations, heartworm and flea/tick prevention. My adoption fee is $175.