Hi everyone! My name is Basil. I am a male Chihuahua mix. I am around 2 yrs old and weigh 8 lbs. Before I came into rescue I lived at the animal shelter and before that I lived in a dirty house with lots of other little dogs. My foster mom came to see me at the shelter and since I was scared I said lots of ugly things to her. She wasn't convinced that I was going to be a good dog! Luckily the shelter staff knew I could be a sweet loving boy and they convinced my foster mom that everything would be just fine. So, she took a chance and brought me home and boy am I glad she did!! I just love living in my foster home! I have so much fun playing with toys, chewing on bones, wrestling with my foster sister and the foster kitten, and napping in my foster mom's lap. I love to run around the fenced yard too! Since I didn't have a great beginning I do have things I need to work on. House training is one thing. I do really well if I'm taken out on a regular schedule and while I'm in the house I wear a belly band in case I forget that I'm not supposed to go inside. My foster mom keeps a close eye on me when I'm loose in the house and makes sure to take me out if she thinks I need to go. I sleep in my crate at night and stay there if I'm home alone. This really helps me with my house training. I won't go in my crate! Another important thing I need help with is socialization since I didn't get that in my first home and only met the staff at the shelter. I think my foster mom is the best person in the world but I'm still on the fence about my foster dad. He can hold me and give me massages but I won't come to him on my own and just don't quite trust that he is okay. My new owner will need to be very patient with me and help me slowly get more confident with all sorts of new people. And because I'm so shy I need an adult only home and someone with some daytime flexibility to help me with my house training and socialization. I would not do well if you have a very busy household with lots of folks visiting.

If you want to make 2019 my best year ever by giving me a new home, please fill out an application. My adoption fee is $175 and I am neutered and up to date on all of my vaccinations as well as heartworm and flea prevention.