Bruno's Requirements:
- Active adult-only home — no visiting young children as he has not been around them
- Someone home part of the day so no long hours of crating
- Experienced dog owner
- Can be only dog or with a calm laid back dog

Hi! My name is Bruno. I’m a male Chihuahua possibly Boston Terrier mix, about 6 years old and 18 pounds. I am really tall for a small dog, and my foster dad calls me “Goober” or “Goof” when we are playing with toys. I get along with both dogs in my foster home, even the grumpy old Chiweenie. I would not do well with a really young boisterous puppy or dog and it is unknown how I would do with cats.

I was a little skittish at first having come from a home where I was crated almost all the time. Now that I’ve gotten comfortable with my foster family, I love to sit in laps and have occasional periods of rambunctious play. I have also done well with meeting new people. I am always looking for a lap to lie in, but can be a little weird about constant petting, especially the hindquarters and my paws. I will give you a warning growl about that letting you know I am not comfortable with it. If you push me with that I may snap at you so a little growl is a good thing! I really like getting my ears scratched though, and being told I’m a good boy. I am a happy dog and really love being with my people and will do best if someone is home part of the time. When my foster mom or dad sit in the recliner I immediately run over to get in their lap. I can also stand on my back legs like a circus dog, and I know to sit on command (for a treat!), and can take a treat from your hand gently. My foster parents say I am very smart and learn very quickly.

I’m no trouble at night, I go right into my crate in the bedroom. I ride well in the car and get excited when I think my foster mom is going to take me to a greenway because I love going for walks (on a leash of course!). I know to potty outside as long as I get taken out on a timely basis. I have been neutered, microchipped, and am current on vaccines and heartworm/flea prevention. I have worked with a trainer from My Curious Canine and SBRET will be willing to provide a free in-home session with them to help you get on the right track with me, if you feel that would be helpful. If you are interested in meeting me, please submit an online application at sbret.com. My adoption fee is $175.