Hello, my name is Buttercup. I am a female Chihuahua mix, between one to two years old and weigh 6 pounds. If I look familiar to you, it's because my sister, Bambi, was up for adoption before me. Bambi got a great new home and now it is my turn! I have been waiting at the shelter for three and a half months to be able to come in to rescue - there are so many of us needing help and just not enough foster families! The shelter was loud and so scary to me that I could not go on the adoption floor. I would growl at everyone I met. I did learn to like the shelter employees and my foster mom came to visit me sometime so I got used to her. Before I came to the shelter I lived with lots of other dogs in a dirty house. I never learned how to be a social butterfly so my new family will need to be willing to help me adjust to new situations. Now that I'm living in a real home I am so happy! I love cuddling with my foster mom and giving her lots of kisses and my foster Dad gives the best massages so I think he is A-OK.

Since I am a bit of a scaredy-cat, I need a home without kids and one that doesn't have a bunch of commotion. I like to go outside but I'm not a fan of wet grass and I'd rather stay on the patio. I have to be carried way out into the yard and set right down in it. Sometimes I immediately run right back to the patio and get carried back out. I will eventually do my business though. I have had some accidents in the house but I'm trying really hard not to. My foster mom makes sure to keep an eye on me and take me outside lots of times during the day. At night I sleep quietly in a crate next to the bed and I'm very good. I'd probably rather sleep in your bed though. I am also learning how to walk on a leash. It's kind of weird but most of the time I do well. I like to get silly sometimes and play with toys and I love chewing on nylabones. I do okay with other dogs but would be just as happy being an only child since I think it is silly to have to share a lap. My foster mom says I am pretty special and she would love to tell you all about me. If you think we might be a match made in heaven please fill out an application. I have been spayed, microchipped, and up-to-date on vaccines and heartworm/flea prevention. My adoption fee is $175.