Calhoun's Requirements:
- Adult only home
- One level home with carpeting or area rugs for traction

Hi! I’m sweet, handsome, friendly Calhoun! I’m a 10-pound male, 9-year-old Poodle! I had a rough life before SBRET rescued me. I was at an area shelter and I had a pelvis fracture that happened a while ago that was never treated. My friends at SBRET took me to a specialist to see if they could do surgery to fix my broken pelvis; however, they cannot due to the severity and length of time since the injury happened. Surgery would just make it worse because my nerves are intertwined in the scar tissue. I have trouble walking and can’t jump, but I am not in pain. I am SO happy, friendly, and loving despite this! Since I do have problems walking, I have some requirements I need for my furever home.

I need a home with no steps and where I don’t have to use steps to go outside. I have trouble walking on non-carpeted floors, so I need a home that has carpet or rugs. Since I can’t jump up but love to lie on the couch with (preferably on!) my foster mom, I need someone who can pick me up. I don’t know my limitations and sometimes try to jump off the couch, so I need be supervised or placed on the floor if you leave the room! But I will want to follow you everywhere anyway! I need a home with no children!

It is sometimes uncomfortable for me to do my business, so I need to have a stool softener on hand, just in case I need it. My pelvis is narrowed which can sometimes make it hard for me to poop. It is helping since I was neutered so that my prostate is shrinking.

When I came to SBRET, my fur was extremely matted. My teeth were also in very bad shape. During my dental I had to have 13 teeth removed! I was extremely underweight, but I have been eating well in my foster home. I eat dry food, but I really love to have some soft food mixed in.

I am doing really well with my house training. I stand by the front door when I need to go out. I’m great on a leash! I do try to run out the front door when I’m not supposed to sometimes, so you will need to make sure I can’t get out unless I’m on my leash ready for my walk.

I sleep in a crate at night. I cry for about 5 minutes, but then I sleep soundly. But let’s be honest, I would prefer to sleep cuddled up in bed in my furever home! Despite all I’ve been through, I have the cutest, sweetest personality! I love everybody! I am so excited to be around my family, follow them around, and snuggle with them! I’m great with meeting new people as well! As long as I’m loved on, I will love anyone! I am good with the big and small dogs in my foster home, but my foster mom hasn’t seen me around cats.

I have been microchipped and neutered, and I’m up to date on all my vaccines, as well as heartworm and flea/tick preventative. My adoption fee is $100.

Calhoun can’t wait to meet his furever family and get all the love this little senior deserves!