Hi, my name is Calista. I am an adorable female Yorkie/Chihuahua mix, about 1-2 years old and about 5-6 pounds. I have such an unusual coloring, a darling scruffy coat, and big, silly ears! I am not a nonshedding pup due to the Chihuahua part of my heritage! I am a tiny dog with some definite requirements in my forever home. I can be an escape artist so a very secure fenced yard is best for me and no young children please as I can squirt out a door faster than you can imagine. So extra care needs to be taken around doors that lead to the outdoors and not to a fenced area. Now my foster mom is working on this behavior with me but I am a bit of a head strong girl and do not have it totally down just yet!

I would do best as an only dog as I am a total attention hog in a tiny little body and will get pushy with other dogs. I love, love my humans and do great with everyone I meet--the more cuddles and tummy rubs for me! I would not be a good fit for an elderly home as I do get underfoot and could cause a mishap. I still have a lot of puppy charateristics so I may be closer to being only a year old. I like to chew and need good safe chew bones and toys - I need to be monitored so I don't get myself into trouble. I am working on housetraining but will need someone home during the day to help me get this down perfectly--did I say I am a head strong girl? I do love my fenced yard but get distracted when I am out there by squirrels, leaves, birds--you name it! I would not be good in a home with a furry creature called a cat as I would want to chase them. My foster mom is working on my recall with treats--who doesn't love treats? I am the bestest little snuggle buddy when it is time to go to bed!

Hopefully after you read all about me, you will understand that I am not the adorable little girl for just anyone--I am a lot of dog in a tiny package! But if you think you have the right situation for me, contact my friends at SBRET. So let's review:

  1. a SECURE fenced yard--I'm built like a pencil,
  2. no other dogs or cats,
  3. no young children as I am a flight risk--I am friendly with children but you know they are sometimes not so great about making sure a sly little dog does not slip out an open door,
  4. not for an elderly owner as I am tiny and always underfoot, and
  5. someone home part of the day to help me with my puppy ways!
If interested in me Calista, a.k.a. Callie--I may have a few other names but they may not be appropriate here 'cause I do keep my foster family on their toes--please submit an online application! I have been spayed, micro-chipped, and am up-to-date on all vaccines and heartworm preventative. My adoption fee is $175.