Hello everyone! My name is Carl. I am a 12-year old, 20-pound male Cocker Spaniel. You see I had an owner who loved me very much but became unable to care for me any longer due to his own declining health. I have adjusted well into foster care and have never met a stranger. I figure out how to blend with other dogs of all sizes and am a low key guy with all of them. I am still pretty active and love short walks and playing fetch with my tennis ball. I love to jump up on the bed or couch and settle in. If you want a co-pilot I sure do love car rides and going to dog-friendly venues. I would do fine in a home with older children.

Now before you think I am perfect, I do have some health issues that you need to be aware of. I was diagnosed with Cushings disease when I came to SBRET but am feeling better all the time now that I am on the appropriate medication for that. This medication is something I will be on for the rest of my life and will need occasional monitoring by my vet to make sure I am on the correct dosage. I have bad knees in both rear legs but am not a good surgery candidate as they have been like that for a long time. However, I do get around just fine. There is some arthritis in my knees so a daily dose of pain meds keep me moving pain free. I also have a heart murmur that does not require any medication but it will also need to be monitored by my vet.

I will do best with someone home during the day as that is what I was accustomed to and I really do not like being left alone. I would make a wonderful companion for a retired person who needs a buddy! I also will do best with someone home to let me out frequently during the day to do my business. I just love my people and will follow my foster mom and dad from room to room. I enjoy sitting on the couch with them or lying in bed. When my foster mom is working at her desk, I will sit quietly at her feet or on a bed and sleep with the other dogs. While I will use a crate and I have become accustomed to it, I do best when I can see someone and be in the same room with them. So that is me Carl! I am having a couple bumps removed and my teeth cleaned in March and then I will be ready for my happily ever after! Do you think it could be you? Call my friends at SBRET and they will be glad to talk with you about me! Just ask for info about that handsome Cocker boy named Carl! I have been neutered, microchipped, and am up-to-date on vaccines, heartworm and flea prevention. My adoption fee will be waived to the right situation and to an approved applicant.