Chester's Requirements:
- Adult home, would be best with a female adopter
- Fenced yard
- Can be only dog or one other calm dog of similar size

Hi, my name is Chester and I can tell you I’m loving the soft beds and good attention I am getting since I got rescued. I’m a pretty laid back 11-year-old guy, possibly some Jack Russell and some other breed mixes in me. I am a bit stocky at almost 24 pounds. My favorite thing to do, now that the weather has warmed up, is go outside in my wonderful fenced yard and nose around. I want a secure fenced yard in my forever home. Another reason I need one is that I have a grade 3 heart murmur and am taking pills for it twice a day (Pimobendan). I have a slightly enlarged heart as well. If you are looking for a walking or running buddy, I am not your guy. If you do want to do very short walks I must wear a harness (one will be included in my new home bag) so there is no stress on my neck.

I got a lot of good vet care when I came to SBRET. I had a dental and several teeth were extracted which did not at all affect my ability to eat my kibble. I also had several small skin masses removed from my rear end (you can tell where I’ve been shaved in some of my pictures). All were benign so that should no longer be an issue.

I like to be wherever you are; I am not much for cuddling but I do like attention. I am just an older calm sort of guy who likes his bed and his yard. I will make someone a wonderful companion. My foster mom has a dog and we are fine together but I could very easily be an only dog. My foster mom doesn’t think I’ve been around toys before as I’m not sure what she wants me to do with them. My foster mom also thinks I would do best with a female adopter.

I am mostly potty trained. When I have an inside accident it will be when I go into a new space and I might feel like I need to mark but that will get better as soon as I am settled. I am also learning the “wait” command so I don’t go squirting out an open door. I am a pretty smart guy and picking up all kinds of new things. I promise to try hard to adjust really well to a new forever home if you give me a chance.

I’ve been neutered and microchipped. I am up to date on all vaccines and on monthly heartworm/flea prevention. My adoption fee is $100.