My name is Chick Pea (my foster mom calls me Chicky). I am an 8-year-old, 13-pound sweet, gentle loving female Chihuahua mix. I came to SBRET when my owner surrendered me because they sadly could no longer care for their dogs. I am adjusting to my foster home and I am now ready to begin my search for my forever family. I really really like to be with my human, and I will follow you everywhere you go until I need a nap then you can find me on the couch waiting for you to sit next to me. I do have some minor separation anxiety—it’s a whining thing but my foster mom doesn’t know how long I make the noise while she’s gone so an apartment would not make a good home for me. My foster mom tells me I am well behaved. I get along well with the other dogs in my foster home. I do let the other dogs know when I don’t like them in my space. My foster sisters don’t always want to share my foster mom’s lap so I lay quietly next to her but in my forever home I will want a lap to call my own! I walk really well on a leash probably because I like to be close to my person. If you have a fenced yard that would be great but not necessary. I do like to wander around the fenced yard when I get the chance. My foster mom leaves me in my crate when she has to leave the house. At night I sleep in my crate, but sometimes I wake and whimper for just a few minutes but if you ignore me I’ll go back to sleep until the morning. I would like to snuggle in your bed if you are looking for a bunk buddy!!

I ride ok crated in the car and may whine for just a few minutes but will settle. My foster mom tells me how great I’m doing with my house-training. Every time she takes me out I go potty and I haven’t had any accidents in the house –someone would need to be home part of the day to take me out so that continues. I don’t have any interest in toys, I do like to watch the other dogs play and romp around. I would do best in an adult home or with children over 12 years of age since I am shy with new folks. I recently had my dental and they had to remove 10 of my teeth but I still do very well eating my dry kibble.

I’m spayed and microchipped. I’m up-to-date on all my vaccines, flea and heartworm prevention. My adoption fee is $175. If you are looking for a companion like me, contact my friends at SBRET and fill out an application. Remember ask for Chick Pea (a/k/a Chicky). I’m right here waiting to meet you!