Howdy Partners! My name is Cowboy. I am a lanky little 2-year old, 4½ pound male Chihuahua. I have an adorable, sleek and shiny tri-color coat of fur, darling little tan eyebrows, and floppy ears that never quite got with the Chihuahua program and kind of have a mind of of their own! I was originally rescued from a puppy mill then surrendered to SBRET so I brought a little of that puppy mill baggage with me. I have come a long way in the short month I have been in rescue and will now happily go for a walk on a leash and harness. I have learned a lot in a month and my foster mom knows that I will continue to improve as long as my new owner works with me and is patient with me.

I am doing very well on pottying outside, but I am able to go out to a fenced yard many times a day at my foster home. So, it will be important that I not go to a home where my owner will be gone all day long. I have started picking up toys and playing with them just a bit. I love racing with the other dogs all around the fenced backyard. At night, I sleep quiet as can be in a crate next to my foster mom's bed. I am a very good eater and do not require anything special other than good quality kibble. I will need a nice little dog in my forever home to continue showing me the ropes - get it...my name is Cowboy and the ropes? A dog buddy would show me that life is good and I need not worry so much. Loud noises and sudden movements can still scare me. When I go to a new home, I will need someone willing to set me up for success. That means setting me up in a small area and letting me wear a harness and drag a leash until I get comfortable with you. Now this will not take too long - give me a week and I will be giving you kisses and asking to be picked up.

I do not have any known health issues. Due to my long, slender legs it will be important that I not gain weight. An adult-only home will be best due to my small size and fearfulness.

So just to recap - my forever home should have someone at home at least part of the day, have a dog buddy, and be an adult-only home. A fenced backyard would be great. I would not be a good dog for an elderly person due to my tiny size, young age, and tendency to get underfoot. I would also not be a good dog for someone as a first time dog owner - I need someone with just a bit of experience. Once I settle in though I am going to be your absolute best buddy ever!! I am adorable, playful, and loving - this is just the beginning of my journey to happily ever after. I have been neutered, microchipped, and a up-to-date on all vaccines, heartworm and flea preventatives. My adoption fee is $175.