Emmett's Requirements:
- Active adult home or one with children over 12
- Fenced yard
- Playful dog who can keep up with me!
- Someone home part of the day

Hi my name is Emmett and I am a very handsome playful 6-month-old, black-and-tan male Chihuahua mix (they say maybe min-pin in the mix). I’m weighing in at 8½ pounds as of May 10, 2021. I really need an active home and another playful dog to keep me company and help me learn the ropes. I really like all the other dogs in my foster home but I play most of the time with the 22-pounds Terrier that lives there and they have some really great toys too. I’m getting better as I get older but I do play hard and sometimes get a little too rough so I would do best with children at least 12 years of age. I do well on a leash but would really enjoy a secure fenced yard like I have at my foster home. When it’s time to go back in after playing in the yard or if I try to eat something in the yard that’s not good for me, my foster mom bribes with a treat (she uses a piece of my dog food). I am very food-driven – I learn pretty quick when there is food involved. I just love people! I get so excited to meet new people and pups. I’m doing really well with my potty-training – but sometimes when I go out to potty I get side tracked and forget to go so you need to keep a close eye out to make sure I do my business. My foster mom keeps a pee pad down just in case I need to go – she said she would rather have me go there and not on the carpet. I sleep in my crate in the living room but sometimes I wake early because I need to go out to potty. After my foster mom takes me out she lets me sleep in the big bed until it’s time to get up. I had some tummy issues when I was younger but it has been straightened out for a while now and I’m doing very well on my puppy food.

I’m up to date on my vaccines. I am neutered, microchipped and up to date on my flea and heartworm prevention.

If you have the active loving home I need, go to sbret.com and submit an application—be sure and ask for Emmett and hopefully we can play Tug O’ War real soon. My adoption fee is $175.