Hello! My name is Fern. I am a lovely, beautiful, gentle, sweet girl. I am a 9-pound, female, white Pekingese/Chihuahua mix. I am approximately 7 years old. I was an owner-surrender brought to a shelter and then rescued by Small Breed Rescue in January 2016. I was adopted in April 2016 and, due to no fault of my own, I was returned in November 2018. And now, I am available for adoption!! My foster parents love me and would keep me if they were not at capacity!

I have a fun personality once I get comfortable with you! I am shy until I get to know you. Once I am comfortable, you will see my beautiful tail start to wag! One of my favorite activities is sitting in the chair with my person while he/she reads or watches TV. I do fine with other dogs as long as the other dogs are respectful to me. I do get a little bit afraid sometimes if they jump up onto the chair that I am sitting in and I may do a small snarl. My foster mom tells me to stop and I stop immediately and then I snuggle with the other dog. I would be fine as an only dog or, like I mentioned, fine with other respectful other dogs. I am probably not the dog for you if you are looking for a playmate for your dog. I am not crated. I am ‘free-range’! I sleep in my foster parents’ bed. I do not do well in an ex-pen because I climb out. I use a potty pad inside the house. Honestly, I do not enjoy going outside all that much. If you plan to bring me outside, I will need a fenced yard. I do not enjoy being on a leash. I ride in the car fairly well although I am still working on it. I will not be a good match for a family that has younger children because I am small and delicate.

I have had a dental, I am spayed, I am up to date on all vaccinations, I am microchipped, and I receive heartworm and flea preventative each month. My adoption fee is $175.