Ginger's requirements
- Adult home or one with children over 12
- Someone home part of the day
- No large dogs

My name is Ginger. I am a 10-year-old sweet, gentle senior female 6½-pound Chihuahua mix. I landed at SBRET when my elderly owner could no longer take care of me. I spent most of my life with her so it takes me a little while to trust new people. Although I was an only dog, I have enjoyed playing with the other small dogs in my foster home. I romp around with them and we chase each other around the house or yard having a good old time. My foster mom thinks that playing with other small dogs my size is something new for me. I would really enjoy having a fur buddy to play with in my forever home, but I would be fine as an only dog as long as you pay attention to me. Large dogs scare me so little dogs only please. I do not cuddle up with the other small dogs in my foster home but that could come with time in my forever home as I get more comfortable. I will bark at the other dogs if they get too close when I am snuggled in my bed.

I am starting to play with toys - I drag them around or bring them to my bed. I am learning to enjoy sitting on the couch with my foster mom and will even roll over and ask her to rub my tummy. I used to not like having my head or face touched but ever since my dental (8 rotten teeth were removed), I feel so much better and will even give you kisses on occasion. My foster mom doesn’t have cats or children so we don’t know how I do with cats and would probably do best in an adult home or with children over 12. I walk well on a leash but let’s keep the walks short and leisurely if you don’t mind. I probably haven’t been on a real walk in a very long time.

My foster mom has my bed and blanket in a crate with the door open so I can go there when I want to nap or just be alone—-sometimes things get a little busy around the house (the crate is my safe place). At night when I sleep burrowed under my blanket or if my foster mom has to leave the house for a while, she closes the crate door to keep me safe. My foster mom takes me to work with her sometimes and I am doing very well with riding in the car - I do best being held or on a blanket on the front passenger seat (I don't like riding in a crate).

I’m doing really well with my housetraining but someone will need to be home part of the day to take me out to potty so I continue to do well. I will use a pee pad on occasion but I do prefer the great outdoors.

I am spayed and microchipped. My vaccines and flea/heartworm prevention are all up to date. If you have the loving patient home, contact sbret.com and fill out your application. Make sure you ask for Ginger then we can meet real soon and I’ll let you give me a belly rub. My adoption fee is $100.