My name is Gunner! I am 8 years old, 8½ pounds, and am a handsome male Chihuahua mix. If you ask my foster mom about me she will tell you I am cute, sweet, gentle, and a very friendly little guy. I came to SBRET from a local shelter when my previous owner was no longer able to care for me. I’m doing great in my foster home, however I would really like to spend Valentines Day in my forever home. I do get a little vocal (my foster mom says I sound like a Seal) when I hear a noise or I want your attention, so I would not do well in an apartment. I get along well with the other dogs in my foster home, my foster mom doesn’t know how I would be with large dogs or cats - she only has small dogs. If you have a buddy for me to hang out with that would be great but I would do just fine as an only dog, I wouldn’t mind having all of your attention. My foster mom thinks I must have spent a lot of time with my previous owner because I want to be next to my human all the time. I don’t like a crate or to be gated off even when you leave the house. I will spend every second trying to get out (to the point of making my nose and mouth very sore). The only way everyone in the home will have a goodnight’s rest is if my person lets me sleep with them. I sleep under the covers quietly and still all night (until it’s time to get up in the morning) - you won’t even know I’m there.

I enjoy the fenced yard at my foster home but that’s not a must-have on my list - I am really good on a leash when you take me out. Speaking of taking me out - I’m doing really well with my housetraining I would need someone home most of the time so I continue to do well with that. I’m not a pee-pad kind of guy and like I said crates are not for me. There seems to be an exception - when I ride in the car, my foster mom puts me in a crate to keep me safe and I make a fuss for a few minutes and then I settle down until we get where we are going then I’ll start fussing again until you let me out.

I would do best in an adult home or with children at least 8 years old. I am neutered, microchipped, up-to-date on my heartworm/flea prevention, all my vaccines and recently had a dental. My adoption fee is $175. If you're looking for a companion let’s celebrate Valentines Day together. Contact my friends at sbret.com, fill out an application and remember to ask for Gunner (the cute little guy)!!