Hi! My name is Honey Rose. I’m not only sweet like honey, but I’m as pretty as a rose. I’m a little girl, probably a Dachshund/Chihuahua mix, 10 months old, and my last time on the scale I weighed 7.2 lbs. I didn’t come from the best environment, but I’m finding out that there are people I can trust, and life can be fun!

I have a lot of energy and love to run, play with small balls, and chew on toys. Truthfully, I’ll chew on about anything, so my foster mom keeps things out of reach if she doesn’t want them gnawed on. I am still a puppy after all! All that playing makes me tired though. When I’m ready to re-fuel, there’s nothing better than snuggling next to someone, or stretching out under a blanket on my foster mom’s lap. Getting a belly rub is nice too.

Because of my previous life, I’m still a bit nervous. Now that I know my foster parents and foster fur sisters better, I’m really good with them. I’m still learning to be sociable with others though. When I’m afraid, I make sure everyone knows it. With a little time though, I get more comfortable with new people, other small dogs, and changes. Thankfully, my foster mom and dad are very patient with me. Because of that, my manners overall have greatly improved.

My foster mom says I’m not perfect, but that I’m doing very well with potty training. Though this cold weather doesn’t make it very appealing, I potty outside most every time she takes me, and have occasionally gone on pee-pads when I couldn’t wait for our walks. I’ll admit to a few accidents, but for being new to this "potty outside" game, I think I’m doing great.

I’m hoping to find my forever home soon. My foster mom will tell you what a sweet personality I have, and how much I like to cuddle, but I need someone patient too. I’d like a person who has time to help me with my social skills and potty training so I can be the best Honey Rose I can be. Adults, or adults with older children, would be great. I would not do well with young ones. Another small dog buddy that likes to play would be fun, but I’m not sure how I feel about cats...I’ve not been around any. I did see a few chickens that I wanted to chase, but my foster mom wouldn’t let me. A fenced yard would be wonderful, but it’s not necessary. I’m doing great with my leash training! I am still a work in progress on this crate training thing but my foster mom and I are working on it! I will need someone who can be home during the day or has some flexibility coming and going so I can get this housetraining thing completely down.

I hope you are thinking I’d be the perfect addition to your family. If you are, go to sbret.com to read about the adoption process. You can find the online adoption application there too. I’ve been spayed, microchipped, and had all the appropriate vaccinations. I’m also up to date on heartworm and flea prevention. My adoption fee is $175.