I am a dog rescued from a puppy mill where I received no medical care or socialization and was used for breeding purposes. Before you fall in love with my adorable face, please remember that I will have some specific needs in my forever home. I need a secure fenced yard, someone with lots of patience and time during the day to help me with my housetraining and socialization, an adult dog-experienced home. Thank you for reading!

Hutch needs: Hi!! I’m handsome Hutch! I’m an 8-year-old, 8-pound, male Shih Tzu. I lived in a puppy mill all my life where my sole job was to make puppies. I was forced to live in a cramped space with not enough food or water and certainly no grooming. I was full of mats and fleas so all my fur had to be shaved off. I also have an old hip injury which makes me walk a little wonky but it doesn’t seem to bother me at all.

Since I lived full time in a small cage, I never had a chance to walk on grass. I am not great on a leash, and turn into a statue when we try to go on walks. My foster mom is working on this with me – she’s taking the time I need to not be afraid! I do enjoy walking freely in my secure fenced backyard. I LOVE to follow the other dogs around.

I am scared to be picked up, and I crouch down as low as possible when my foster mom needs to pick me up. It is going to take someone very patient to gain my trust so I can feel more comfortable being picked up when I need to be. I also do not like to make eye contact until I’m ready.

I am slowly getting comfortable enough to follow my foster mom around the house and I like being on the couch with her and on her lap. I am most comfortable when there is another dog around, though. Because of this, I need a home with at least one other dog who would be ok with me lying on them/following them around.

When I came to my foster home, I was scared to eat out of a bowl, but I’m doing so much better! I didn’t eat for a few days, but now I eat pretty well if I have some wet food mixed in with my dry food.

I will need a place in my new home where I can go when I am anxious or scared. Right now, I have a bed where I can still see everyone, but I have my own space.

It may take awhile for me to come out of my shell and learn to trust people. But I can’t wait to find a very patient, loving, understanding family who will accept my quirks and love me for me.

I am microchipped, neutered, and up-to-date on vaccines and heartworm/flea prevention. I had a dental when I came into SBRET. My adoption fee is $175.