Hello! My name is Katie. I am a 9-pound, female, Yorkie-Poodle mix (our best guess). I am a gentle, sweet girl approximately 10 years old. I was in a shelter when Small Breed rescued me. I fit in real well with my foster family. I get along with all of the dogs (small and medium) and the humans in my foster family. I like playing with balls and toys. I walk well on a leash. I enjoy a lap when I am tired or resting during the day. My favorite activity: Going outside in the fenced yard to investigate and play.

This is what I need in my forever home.:

- All family members must be steady on their feet and if there are any children they need to be 12 years old or older. I get right underfoot and may be a trip hazard.

- A fenced yard. A completely enclosed fenced yard with no place for me to find a way out. I must never be left outside alone just in case I find an unidentified way to escape my fence and because of hawks.

- I am working on house training; I go potty outside if you let me out (give or take) every 2 hours. I will need someone home that can let me outside to continue to work on house training. I sleep in a crate at night in my foster parents’ bedroom. My foster parents are concerned that I may jump off the bed since I, unhesitatingly, tried this once and they have a tall bed. It appears that I may have a small amount of depth perception challenge. Ideally, my forever home will have a one-level house because I do not do stairs.

I have some hair loss on my back due to my initial rough shape, but it is growing back in. I have a heart murmur but my heart is not enlarged as shown by x-ray. I currently take no meds for the heart murmur. I have a collapsing trachea (this means that you may hear me cough/gag a few times a day) and that you should not apply pressure on my sternum area when you lift me up. I am hearing-impaired but I can hear some loud tones. My eyes are a bit cloudy, possibly due immature cataracts. But, I do appear to see fine.

I will not be a good match for a family that has younger children because I am small and an escape risk. If a door is slightly ajar, I will try to get through it because I love to be outside. A home with a double safety set up would be ideal (another closed gate or door before the entrance/exit doors).

I have had a dental, I am spayed, I am up to date on all vaccinations, I am microchipped and I receive heartworm and flea preventative each month. My adoption fee is $100.