Madeline’s requirements:
- One level home or no access to stairs.
- No kids, I’m not as agile as I used to be and can get underfoot
- Regular grooming once my coat fully grows back.

Hello my name is Madeline. I’m a Lhasa mix girl about 12 years old and weigh about 19 pounds. I’m black and white with a touch of gray. My foster mom says I have the sweetest face and the most soulful eyes. I found myself at the shelter when my owner passed away and SBRET said for me to come with them and they would help me find my new forever home. When I first came to my foster home I wasn’t sure how to act. I mean I didn’t know what attention was. It took me a while for me to figure out that my foster mom really is a nice person with a soft brush for my fur, she has good food for me to eat and plenty of soft beds for me to chose from. My foster mom thinks that maybe I was used to living outside. I’m a sweet girl that wouldn’t harm a fly. There are big dogs and little dogs and cats here at my foster home, I’m not too interested in them except when they go outside. I love to follow along with them. Otherwise, I pretty much stay to myself except when it’s meal time then I get pretty excited and dance around with the rest of the gang a little bit.

I’m fairly quiet unless I want something then I usually moan until my foster mom figures it out. Usually, I’m hungry, my bed is lumpy or I’m ready to get out of my crate after a good night’s sleep. I bark sometimes but not very often. My bark is kind of loud so I might not be a good neighbor if you live in an apartment. My hearing is not great but I can hear some loud noises. My vision is pretty good for an old gal. I can’t do stairs because I’m not really aware of them and could stumble. I move just fine but I probably didn’t have stairs at my last home and I have no idea that I could get hurt if I fell.

I prefer a home without kids because I don’t move fast enough to get out of the way and I would get hurt or get in their way. I would prefer a nice quiet home with someone that would take me outside to walk around in the yard or go on short walks in the neighborhood. I walk pretty well on a leash and I’ll do my business when we are out. Speaking of my business, I have had accidents in the house, so my person will need to get me out to potty regularly.

I had to be shaved down to the skin when I got to the shelter because my fur was super matted and very stinky. My coat is starting to grow in and I’m getting fuzzy! I’ll need regular groomer appointments and nice easy brushing in between grooming appointments so I’ll be beautiful! Oh gosh, to have a bow in my hair again!

I’ve had a dental and lost almost all of my teeth so I eat softened kibble. I enjoy my meals! I also had lots of lumps and bumps on my body and I had them removed. One was discovered to be a low grade carcinoma, it was on my back left leg. The nice vet lady said she got good margins but one can never predict that it won’t come back again but since it was the lowest grade there is a good chance it will not. I’ll need to have regular vet checkups so the new vet can make sure I don’t have anymore bumps pop up. I have to tell you that I feel so much better though after my dental and my lump removal. I’ve got a spring in my step that I haven’t felt in a very long time. It’s wonderful!

That’s pretty much all I know about myself. I’m up to date with my vaccinations and I’m on monthly heartworm prevention. Because I’m a senior my adoption fee is $100.

My SBRET friends told me that my forever home is out there and I bet it’s you!

Love,
Madeline.