Hello, my name is Maxie. I’m a 7-year-old female Terrier mix, and at last weigh-in I was around 10 pounds. SBRET pulled me from an area shelter because I had a lot of discomfort with both of my ears. The vet said I had a lot of trauma to my ears, possibly from a dog fight, resulting in thickening and scarring, and this caused the opening of my ear canals to be restricted with no airflow. Because of that, a difficult decision was made to remove my ear flaps. I’m recovering from that surgery now and soon my stitches will be removed. You can see how adorable I still am, even without ears to flap in the wind.

I’m a super sweet girl who loves people. I sleep great in a crate all night, and I’m good when left there for a few hours during the day too. And because I’m taken outside on a regular basis, I’m doing great with my house training. I’m proud to say, I’ve had zero accidents in my foster mom’s home. I love to cuddle with my humans, sunbathe in the yard or on the porch, and take car rides. I am not good with other dogs or cats though, so I need to be the only animal in the house. I enjoy going for walks on a leash, but it’d be best to keep me away from other dogs that might walk nearby. I would sure enjoy a nice secure fenced backyard to romp and play in!! I think I’d be a great girl for you if you are looking for an only dog.

Because continued positive reinforcement with my potty training is necessary and I can get anxious when left alone in a crate for too many hours during the day, someone who has a shorter work day, flexible hours, or retired would be a good fit. I love children, but if living in my forever home, those over 12 years old might be best. If you are looking for a lovable and loyal little girl like me to hangout with, contact SBRET and ask for Maxie. I’ve been spayed, microchipped, and I’m up-to-date on all required vaccines and my monthly heartworm and flea protection. My adoption fee is $175.