Hello Everyone! This is Monty! I'm an 8-year old male Shih Tzu mix, weighing around 13 pounds. The past couple of months haven't been the best for me, but life is looking up now. I was an owner surrender and initially taken to a shelter. Though I'm thankful the shelter had space for me, I was really happy when this rescue took me in and moved me into my new foster mom's home. I'm more comfy, and I feel very safe and loved. I'm still hoping though to soon find my forever person or family.

I'm proud to say that I'm completely potty trained in my foster home! But know that when I transition to a new home, I may have an accident. I just need someone who has time to take me out. I love being outside, so my preference would be to have a fenced yard where I could run free. That's not required though, because I do well on a leash. You'll smile when you see me walk. I have a beautiful prance, and sometimes I bounce when I run. When not outside, I'm pretty low-key. I love snuggling next to my foster mom, though she does have to help me up on the sofa. I think because of my longer body, I have trouble with doggie steps.

My foster mom says I'm perfect, but in truth, I do have a few minor issues. The vet thinks I might have the beginning of cataracts. My vision does not seem so bad that it affects what I do though. I also have slippy knees or luxating patellas but they do not require surgery. That is very common for small dogs like me. Another thing you need to know is that I do not like crates. I was never crated in the past, so I'm now afraid to be in one. For the most part, I do well with other dogs my size, but it might be nice to have a human to myself too.

I've been neutered, microchipped, and had all the appropriate vaccines. I'm also up-to-date on my heartworm and flea protection. I hope I'm the perfect boy for you. If you think I am, please complete an online application. My adoption fee is $175.