Hello! My name is Ophelia, Ofee for short! I'm a 6 to 8-year-old female Pekingese that weighs 10-½ pounds. I'm a beautiful sable color with black and gold undertones and highlights. I have the softest, sweetest brown eyes. My personality is silly and joyful, sweet, huggable and totally loveable!

If you don't know much about Pekingese, you should know that we have special potential health issues related to our flattened faces that can cause breathing issues and our eyes can be vulnerable to injury because they are pretty prominent on our faces. I snore, I snort and I sneeze, but that's how I am. So if you are a light sleeper, I may not be the girl for you. My beautiful coat never stops growing and I require daily grooming and fortunately, I love the attention and I don't mind baths either! I will need to go to a professional groomer about every six weeks or so to keep my coat in good condition. I'm not comfortable in hot weather and prefer to be inside in the air conditioning because of my thick coat and my short snout!

On November 21, 2018, I was spayed and had a dental and lost 12 teeth and I was already missing 15! For now my foster mom softens my food and eventually I should be able to go back to eating my regular kibble. My lower canines will need to be removed because of major gum recession but at the time of my dental, my lower jaw was very unstable and it needs time to get stronger. In about 6 months I will need to go back to my vet to have a reassessment and see if those canines can come out without damaging my lower jaw.

Something else that is special and important to know about me is that I panic when a collar is put around my neck! It makes me gag and I think I'm choking. I have an elongated palate or Brachycephalic Airway Syndrome but it's not bad enough to be repaired by surgery. So the sensation of thinking that I'm choking seems to be a psychological one. So I'm not going to be a walking companion out and about on a leash. I will require a secure fenced yard so I can go outside to do my business. And on that note - I'm doing great with my house training!

Even with all that going with me, foster mom says I'm just a perfect little girl! I love to play with toys and I love to run around the house as fast as I can with my ears blowing in the breeze. I'm ok with cats and get along great with the other little dogs and I love to play with them. I was scared when I first came to my foster home but after 24 hours I was just fine and fit right in with the pack. I am wary of strangers and I would not be a good choice of a pet if you have children under the age of 12. Even though it's said that Pekingese are not easy to train, I do know how to sit! I'm extremely food motivated and my foster mom has been using cooked chicken to help me be happy while I'm learning to wear a loose harness. I think that's going to be a work in progress for a while but if you are up for the challenge and have the patience to help me along, I would love to come live with you! I'm up to date with my vaccinations, I’m heartworm negative and on monthly prevention. My adoption fee is $175.

Love and kisses, Ofee!