Hello there! My name is Pansy. I'm a 5-year old, 8-pound female Chihuahua-Dachshund mix. Don't I have the cutest little floppy ears and big brown eyes? Sadly I came from a place where there were many dogs not getting the care that we all needed and I had quite a few litters of puppies. I'm ready to settle down and be an only dog to someone to whom I can give all my love.

So far I've shown that I will need to be in a home as an only dog or with one other small dog. It takes me awhile to warm up but after a bit of time I do quit being worried. I will sometimes become protective of my person and when another dog or small person comes up to me or them, I get protective and can react. I am receiving correction for that and lose my spot on my person's lap! So hopefully I am going to catch on and learn that is not too cool! There's something about larger dogs, even the nicest of large dogs, that scare me and make be defend myself and my human. Other than that, I'm really a sweetheart!

I will follow my person everywhere, except when there are toys around! I love rummaging through the toy pile to find just the right one for the occasion and will proceed to play and play! I'm learning to walk on a leash and am enjoying being outside. Something that my foster mom loves is my Chihuahua move--I love to snuggle up under all the covers and sleep right next to you!

Housetraining is going well -- any accidents usually happen while my foster mom is at work and I've been using a pee pad then. I stay in the kitchen during the day, with a radio on and plenty of toys. Most days, I can wait until she gets home and we go outside right away! I'm a happy eater and prefer to eat where I can see my person -- I'm just happier that way. My foster mom is working on getting me to eat in the kitchen and says I'm doing well -- she says I'll get there!

I need a family that understands fearful or reactive dogs and someone who is willing to help me learn that I am going to be loved forever. I enjoy sleeping in bed with you but I will sleep quietly in a crate in your room. I should not go to a home with small children or large dogs. I have been spayed, am up to date on my vaccinations, have had a dental cleaning, am microchipped and receive monthly flea and heartworm protection. My adoption fee is $175.