Hello...I'm Peaches - I am a petite Chihuahua mix, about 3 to 4 years old and weigh between 4 and 5 pounds. I came from a rural shelter, where a vet discovered that I had a luxating patella - or a "trick knee". This is common with small breeds and can be surgically corrected but the shelter did not have the resources to have it done. Fortunately SBRET took me in and sent me to a specialist to take care of my knee problem. The specialist checked me out post-surgery and said my knee is all better...so I am good to go and ready for my forever home!

I have been with my foster family for several weeks now and have adjusted very well to their routines. I get along well with the other dogs in my foster home. Since my furry foster siblings are too big to be lapdogs, I get to be the one that sits on my foster mom's lap when she watches TV, sits at her desk, or takes a nap on her recliner. When my foster mom is away, I am just as happy to sit on my foster dad's lap. So.. as you can see- I like being held!

I am very good about this housetraining thing. I walk really well on a leash although I do tend to get nervous when my foster mom takes me to a new place. My foster mom thinks that I will gain more confidence with time. At night, I get to sleep on my foster parents' bed but I would probably be okay with sleeping on a comfy dog bed of my own next to your bed. It would be nice for me to have a fenced yard because occasionally I get the "zoomies". Of course, I am small enough so I can do that in the house but it sure would be nice to run around outside! Even though I haven't shown much interest in playing with my foster furry siblings, I think it would be great if I can have a small furry friend in my forever home for companionship.

If I sound like the perfect match for you, contact SBRET and fill out an application for me! I have been spayed, micro-chipped, and up-to-date with all vaccines and heartworm preventatives. My adoption fee is $175.

P.S. Check out my video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jepn1VHKAGU