Hello, my name is Pumpkin. I'm 3 years old and weigh 8-½ pounds. I'm a shih tzu/maltese/poodle mix with cream and tan hair. When I first came to my foster home, I was a very shy girl, but over the last month I've grown so much.

Cuddling and playing with my foster parents is my favorite thing. I also like to wrestle with my stuffed toys and my foster dad, and play fetch. I was lacking confidence when I first arrived at my foster home, and the love and attention that I'm getting makes me so happy. I really want to find a forever family who will pay me lots of attention.

I do really well spending the day at home while my foster family is at work. I was a picky eater at first, but now I eat healthy dog food all the time with no issues! I LOVE exploring outside. We had a sunshiny warmer day recently, and all I wanted to do was sniff around the yard and take in nature! I do pretty well with my potty training, but have the occasional accident. I'm still learning so don't expect perfection just yet. I sometimes still think I'm getting in trouble when I'm not. When that happens, I cower. I don't like being in trouble, and I really want a family who will be gentle with me.

I've grown so much this month that the home I need has changed for the better! I would really love a secure fenced yard, but if you will take me on daily walks on a leash and let me explore for a while with you I'll be happy too. I can never be off-leash without a fence though because I'm lightening fast and a bit of an escape artist! I will be happy as an only dog as long as we have lots of cuddle and attention time when you get home, but would do well with other dogs if they are small and very laid back. More than anything, I need a foster parent or family that will teach me through positive reinforcement using praise and love. Scolding me makes me scared, but the confidence and sense of security I've gained with positive reinforcement has helped me learn lots of good new habits!

I was an owner surrender who said I had trouble with small children. So, homes without children or with older children who know how to interact with dogs are best for me. I am spayed, up-to-date on my vaccinations and micro-chipped. I also just had my teeth cleaned, and got a great report! I receive monthly heartworm, tick and flea prevention. My adoption fee is $175.