Sprite’s Requirements:
- Adult only home or w/children 12+
- Someone home during day
- No apartments/condos because he can be vocal
- One level home - No steps
- No crate - Sleeps w/person at night
- Small fenced in area for pottying
- High Blood Pressure Meds
- Possibility of Prescription Dog Food

Hello there! They call me Sprite. I’m a 9-year-old male Maltese mix, weighing 9 pounds. I came into the rescue underweight and full of fleas. My hair was dirty, overgrown, and extremely matted. I had to be shaved, but my hair is growing back nicely now. In the future, I will need to be groomed on a regular basis.

When first coming to the rescue, I had a double ear and eye infection. Though the vet says the infections are gone now, I’m still mostly blind in both eyes. I get around OK though. Also, I can’t hear. I have high blood pressure and take meds for that. The vet says I have a grade 4 heart murmur too, but an X-ray showed no significant heart enlargement from this. My kidney numbers are a bit elevated. This could be the beginning of kidney disease, so follow-up labs will need to be done in 5-6 months. Recently, bladder stones were seen in an X-ray. I’m recovering from that surgery now. Depending on what kind of stones were removed, I may need to eat prescription dog food. Those results won’t be back for a few weeks.

My biggest issue is separation anxiety when not with the person I am closest to. I want to be with them 24/7 and can get vocal when not. Because of this, an apartment or condo would not be a good fit. I also need help on and off the sofa or bed, and carried out to potty if there are steps to go outside. My forever home needs to be on one level. I’m not potty-trained, but do well if taken out first thing in the morning, every couple hours during day, and at bed time. It's best for me to have a belly band when I’m roaming free in the house. I’m OK traveling and can potty on a leash, but can’t walk far. At home, a small fenced area would be best. I don’t do well in crates. Gating or using an X-pen is OK when you will be gone for a few hours, but at night I want to snuggle in the big bed next to my people. I am OK with quiet, older dogs but do not play with them or toys. My favorite activity throughout the day is being next to my person.

I’ve been neutered, and I’m up-to-date on all needed vaccines, along with heartworm and flea protection. If you are looking for a very loving and loyal little boy, contact SBRET and ask for Sprite. My adoption fee is $100.