Hello there! My name is Sugar. You may have seen me posted on Facebook as Shipley at one time, but since I've been in rescue my name has evolved to Sugar. I'm about 2 years old and weigh about 9 pounds. I am a Chihuahua mix girl and, as you can see, I'm a beautiful blond with highlights to die for! When I came to rescue I was completely shut down and terrified as I had been living feral. I didn't have much interaction with people or normal household living since I lived outside. BUT no more outside living for me!!

Fast forward 5 months since my rescue and I've learned so much and I want you to know what I need for me to be comfortable in my forever home. First of all, you should know that I am an extreme flight risk. I always need to be on a leash when I'm not in a very secure fenced yard or inside the house. I walk great on a leash by the way. Second, I would benefit from having a "normal" dog buddy that can show me the ropes. I've learned so much from my foster sibs about going outside to potty and going to bed in my crate at night. Next, even though I'm good at hanging on the sofa, I still need lots of time and patience to get to the point to where I'll sit next to you or even on your lap. I need continued patience because I will run in the opposite direction if I get scared when you move too fast. My foster mom takes her time with me and we have learned that patience really is a virtue! If you give me time I'm going to show you how silly and happy I can be! I get very excited and happy when I see my foster mom - I will dance and bark and that will bring a big smile to your face.

I have been a challenge but most of the hard work has been done by my SBRET friends with my socialization training. I'm really a nice little girl that isn't too hard to take care of. I have just been so scared of the world and I'm starting to figure out that it's going to be ok. So let’s go over what I need in my forever home. I need an adult home and one with people who are home during the day and with a secure fenced yard and a happy little well-adjusted dog buddy. Also, I would not be good for first time dog owners as I need someone with some dog savviness. If you think you would like to help me continue my journey through this happy life I've discovered, please let my friends at SBRET know. I've been spayed, am up-to-date on my vaccinations, heartworm negative and on prevention. I also have a microchip. My adoption fee is $175.

Love,
Sugar