Trooper's Requirements:
- Adult home or one with children over 12
- No long flights of steps please
- Able and willing to continue medicated baths

Hi there! My name is Trooper. My foster parents gave me this name because of my happy, sweet, funny disposition. You would never know that I had a really rough early life.

I’m a male and about 5 years old, weigh about 11 pounds, and am probably a Shih Tzu mixed with maybe Yorkie. Before being surrendered to the rescue, I was living outside and my front left leg was bitten by a snapping turtle. The injury broke my leg which was left untreated, meaning I lost the use of it and surgery was not an option. The rescue group helped me get the bad leg removed, but don’t worry, having only three legs doesn’t slow me down. I get around really well, but I’m going to need a family who understands that my remaining legs need good preventative care to keep me mobile as I age. I’ll need regular vet care to keep an eye on my joints and muscles to keep me zooming along for a long and happy life. Keeping me at a healthy weight will be important too—no undue stress on my legs.

Other than my leg injury, I came into rescue with very poor quality skin. My back legs were leathery, with no fur. Now, I’m getting regular medicated baths to heal my skin, and my fur is starting to grow back in. My foster parents will bring my special shampoo with me, and I’ll need my new family to keep these up every 3-4 days until my skin is back in good shape. The good news is I’m good in the bath and you can talk to me and tell me how much you love me while we wait the ten minutes for my shampoo to soak. Eventually, I shouldn’t need these anymore, but it’ll be important to continue them until my skin totally heals.

If you can help me with these two things, you’re going to get a great dog in return. My foster parents tell me I’m one of their best little guests. I am LOVING living inside now. Soft beds and blankets are the best, and I love being held and cuddled and loved on! I also love little plush toys so please make sure you can keep me well stocked in those. I love to play! Wrestling you for my toys is always fun!

I’ll do well as an only dog if you will play with me and give me your attention, but would be fine with friendly, playful dog buddies, too. I’m a great eater, and I love pill pockets and think they are great treats. Please say you’ll keep some around for an occasional snack! So long as you take me out consistently, I’m doing very well with house training.

I’m going to make a great little buddy and really want a family to care and love me. I am neutered, microchipped, and up-to-date on all vaccines, flea and heartworm prevention. My adoption fee is $175.