I am a dog rescued from a puppy mill where I received no medical care or socialization and was used for breeding purposes. Before you fall in love with my adorable face, please remember that I will have some specific needs in my forever home. I need a secure fenced yard, someone with lots of patience and time during the day to help me with my housetraining and socialization, an adult dog-experienced home. Thank you for reading!

Twizzler must have:
- Patient adult home with daytime flexibility
- Someone experienced with very shy or puppy mill dogs
- Secure fenced yard

Hello! They call me Twizzler. I‘m a 6-year-old, 12½-pound male Miniature Poodle. My foster mom tells me every day what a sweet boy I am. I’ve not heard a lot of good things in my life, so it feels good to be praised and understand what it’s like to be loved. I was afraid of her at first, but now my foster mom is the first one I look for every morning. She has other dogs though, and I’m a bit jealous, so I look forward to when I have my own forever family.

Though we are not sure of my past, it’s believed that I was a puppy mill dog used for breeding. When first rescued, I was afraid of a lot...people, grass, rain, collars, the leash, wind, and other dogs. Any movement toward me made me flinch or run, and all kinds of noises made me jump. Some of my anxiety may come from not being handled much in the past, or maybe not being handled in the best way. Overcoming my fears has been a slow process. I’m doing better, but I have a ways to go. I may still back away or want to hide occasionally when you reach for me and I have bonded best with one person in my foster home. My foster mom knows I’m trying though. She sees that I want to please, but understands that to some degree, I may always be a fearful little man. I would not be a good choice for a first time dog owner or someone who does not have experience with shy, fearful dogs. I need someone who is willing to give me time and work with me and know that this is going to be a long process.

I am not potty trained, but I’m getting more used to going outside. My foster parents take me out every 2-3 hours, but at times I resist going into the yard or avoid doing my business, especially if it’s raining or the grass is wet. Because of that, I need to wear a belly band when roaming free in the house. Even with that, I occasionally have an accident. I need a forever person who can be home at least part of the day to continue working with me on my potty training. Someone who works from home or who is retired would be perfect.

I have made a little progress with walking on a leash, but I’m still hesitant and scared, making me not a good long distant walking buddy and a flight risk. Because of this, a secure fenced-in yard is required. I do well when crated for a drive, but don’t like being in it during the day and bark initially. I sleep quietly in one all night. I love snuggling next to my foster mom when she naps though, so at bed time I would love to skip the crate and share your bed if you’d like a cuddle buddy.

Since I have anxieties to fast movement and loud noises, it’s best if I’m in a quiet, adult only home. I need someone who is very patient too. Being the only dog might be best, though I might be OK with an older one who stays to himself, and who is not playful. I’m not sure that I’d do well with cats. I do eat a prescription low fat dog food since I had a bout with pancreatitis.

I have had a dental, been neutered, microchipped, and am current on vaccines as well as heartworm/flea prevention. If you are looking for a sweet boy, who with time and patience will be a very loving and loyal companion, contact sbret.com and ask for Twizzler. My adoption fee is $175.