Hi, my name is Wilma! I am a 5-year-old petite, 7-8 pound dachshund. I was a stray at an area shelter where I was loaded with parasites and very skinny. The wonderful people at SBRET swooped me up and made me feel better.

When I moved into my foster home, I was very happy! I did not appreciate being placed in a crate at bedtime by myself and I caused a big fuss. Since then, my foster mom lets me sleep with my foster fur sibling at night and I don't mind that at all. I also stay in a crate with my other foster fur sibling when my foster mom leaves the house. I have become comfortable sleeping in the crate alone at night sometimes because I know it's a safe place now. I have been working really hard on my house training and as long as my foster mom sticks to my usual schedule, I go potty outside in the fenced yard with no problem but I do prefer that she walk outside with me. I am not a big fan of spending time outside with my foster fur siblings, I would rather be inside with my foster mom and since I am such a petite little girl it would be best that I be accompanied outside so no hawks get me. I get along with all of the small dogs and older children that I meet. I can be playful at times, but am laid back most of the time. There is a cat that lives here, but I don't pay her any attention. I am not really interested in toys, but I am very motivated by food. I ride well in cars and walk on a leash without a problem. I would do okay in an only dog home or with other small dogs.

I do have an eye condition called endothelial dystrophy that causes fluid build up in my eyes. I also have cataracts, but because of the endothelial dystrophy, I am unable to have surgery for them. The dog ophthalmologist said it is not currently causing me any vision problems, but as I age, it may diminish my vision and will probably progress. I will still be able to see light and dark even with progression.

I have been spayed, microchipped, all of my vaccinations are up-to-date, and I'm on monthly heart worm and flea prevention. My adoption fee is $175. If you are looking for a constant, sweet, loyal companion who gets along with everyone, I'm your girl!