Hello, I'm Woodson. I'm a male Shih Tzu and am about 8 years old and weigh 16 pounds. I came to the rescue after being picked up by animal control. I was having a hard time then, but the rescue has helped me very much. Now that I'm feeling better and learning that you humans can be good to a guy, I really want to find my forever happy retirement home to love and spoil me.

Have you heard of puppy beds!? My foster family taught me these were great cuddle places for little Woodys (that's my nickname), and now I LOVE them. I've already picked out the bed I'm taking with me when I move so please make sure you'll have room for it! I'd really love a home where I can lounge around with you. Sometimes we can sit together, and sometimes I'll want to cuddle on my bed on the floor near you. I love to fetch toys that you throw and ride in the car, I hop like a bunny when I get excited, and I get pretty proud of myself when I get my haircut and look good. All in all, I'm a low-key, laid-back little dude looking for a quiet retirement home where we can enjoy passing time together.

I'll do well with a fenced yard or being taken on short walks and potty trips on a harness. I have an enlarged heart that is managed well with a heart pill twice a day, and I'm great at taking my medicine because it makes me feel so much better. I have a bit of a collapsed trachea, which is why I need to wear a harness, not a collar, on my walks. It makes me a cough a little now and then, but I'm having so much fun playing with toys, loving on my foster family and laying on big beds that it doesn't slow me down! Watch me play fetch on youtube here.

I need an adult home -- when I first came into rescue I could be a bit grouchy as I was not feeling well and was pretty upset -- I am doing very well now with my foster mom and dad and adult visitors. I like my foster dog siblings except when the older one that can't see very well runs into my face. I get grumbly with him then. I sleep in my crate at night, but would LOVE to sleep on your bed if you let me. I am neutered, up-to-date on my vaccinations and microchipped. I also just had my teeth cleaned. I receive monthly heartworm, tick and flea prevention. My adoption fee is $100.