Adoption Pending :)
Adoption Area: East Tennessee

Annie needs: Hi there! It's me, Annie the Chihuahua! I am an adorable older lady who weighs 5.5 pounds and is estimated to be around 10 years old. I came to SBRET from a shelter in Georgia, where they took me in after someone found me on the side of the road. When I arrived at my foster home, I was extremely shy and quite wobbly due to an advanced case of luxating patellas (bad knees!). Fortunately, after surgery on both legs, I've recovered like a champion and am a lot steadier now. I still do not need to jump off beds or couches, or have access to flights of stairs.

When I go to my forever home, I will need some time to get comfortable with you, but I promise your patience will pay off because I will be my sweet self once I get to know you. My favorite thing to do is snuggle on the couch with my foster mom -- no need for toys or trips to the dog park. Really, just let me sit in your lap, or even curl up by myself in a comfy dog bed, and I'll be perfectly content. I do also love to eat, and I'm not picky! I will gobble down dry kibble without any complaint.

I would be fine as an only dog, but have lived peacefully with another calm older dog at my foster home. I have also been around some older children who were obsessed with me (can you blame them?) and did just fine with them wanting to hold and pet me. Of course, being so small, I need a household where I won't get stepped on or trip anybody up.

You'll want to keep me in a crate overnight and when you leave the house, at least until I've proven my housetraining skills. I'm working on that and doing very well as long as someone can take me out multiple times a day. I am not a huge fan of walking on a leash so I would love it if you had a fenced backyard, but that's not absolutely necessary.

Unfortunately I never learned how to navigate stairs, so if you have any I will need to be carried up and down them. I absolutely cannot be at the top of a staircase without a baby gate or else I may accidentally tumble all the way down. However if I'm at the bottom of the stairs, there's no problem as I do not know how to walk up steps.

If you are looking for a loyal and loving little dog, fill out an application and we can meet soon. I am spayed, current on vaccines and flea/heartworm prevention. I also had a dental and still have a decent amount of my teeth for my age! My adoption fee is $100.