Adoption Pending :)
Adoption Area: East Tennessee

Ari needs: Hi there! My name is Ari. I am a very energetic, loving 12-lb male Chi-mixed breed. The vets think I am between 1-2 years old.

I came to SBRET through a shelter. I was a little wild when I first came into my foster mom’s home and didn't have much exposure to indoor living prior to coming to rescue, but I have adjusted really well to the dog-bed-and-cuddles lifestyle. I do still have puppy-like behaviors such as chewing on items, nibbling on fingers, and overall energy, but am also very smart and learn quickly.

I have recently demonstrated that I would prefer to be in a home where I am your only canine companion. I am not a fan of dogs larger than me and am hit-or-miss with dogs close to my size. I was outside a lot before coming to the rescue and it is unknown what I could have encountered out there. On the flip side, I do REALLY well with children and love every adult that I have met. I have affection in my heart, but only for the two-legged.

I have done really well with crate training and have had only two accidents inside in the last two months (belly bands have worked when I am outside the crate). I have a great appetite and love all the treats. I also do really well taking any meds as long as they are wrapped in a peanut buttery delicious pill pocket.

Onto my medical…remember I was found as a stray and it did not appear that I had been taken care of very well.

I actually came into the rescue with heartworms. I was treated in mid-August and have been doing fine. I was tested on 11/04/2023 and am happy to report that I am heartworm negative - WooHoo! Also like many small dogs, I do have luxating patellas but I do not show any signs of discomfort. Getting continued exercise and maintaining my weight will make sure that I stay in tip top shape.

I have been neutered, microchipped, had all my shots, and am up to date on my heartworm and flea preventives. The only thing I am missing now is my furever family. Could that be you?! My adoption fee is $175.