Adoption Pending :)
Adoption Area: East Tennessee

Charlie needs: Hi there! My name is Charlie, or Chuck, as my foster mom calls me. I am a happy 5-year-old, 10.5-lb male ShihTzu/Chihuahua mix. I was an owner surrender due to unforeseen circumstances. It was quite a shock to me and my fur siblings and it turned my world upside down. I am just now starting to show my personality.

At my wellness check, it was discovered that I have Grade 3 luxating patellas in both knees, which is very common is us small breed dogs. I will need to be on joint supplements for the rest of my life to help with this. I need to lose a little weight as well - my foster people are working on that, and this will lessen any strain on my knees.

I will require regular grooming. My foster mom is a groomer and she is working with me on it. I hate my feet being scissored, especially the back ones; however, I did much better on her second attempt. We just had to build some trust, so my new groomer will have to do that too.

I am potty trained. My foster parents have a doggie door into a secured small potty yard and I figured that out in the first 24 hours I was here. My furever people will need to be sure to take me out regularly. I am learning to walk on a leash. My foster people aren’t sure whether I don’t know how or if I’m just too scared right now when I’m on a leash.

I get along with other dogs and cats. I don’t play with them but I don’t bother them either. My foster people don’t know if this will change as I get more comfortable in my new surroundings. I’m not sure how I would do as an only child, since I have always had fur siblings.

I like to know where my people are at all times and if they aren’t around, I like to shout out a few hellos to see if they answer. I also like to shout for joy when I see them and I alert when I see someone outside, so because I can be vocal, an apartment/condo is not an option for me. When I’m with my people, I’m a pretty quiet guy. I like to snuggle with them on the sofa. As I am getting more comfortable, my foster mom has noticed I may have some lap guarding tendencies, which they are working on, so I would probably do best in a home with children over 8.

My foster parents keep me in a crate in their bedroom at night and I sleep quietly through the night. I do not like being in a crate when they aren’t home though and would bark constantly in it. They leave me out in the house with my foster siblings now and I do well with the exception of my regular “hellos” looking for my people.

I travel well in the car. I whine at first but settle after a few minutes. My foster mom thinks that’s because the last car ride I went on with my original person turned my world upside down. My foster people are pretty sure I never went anywhere outside my home and they have started taking me out in the world and at first it’s a bit overwhelming but then I relax on my pillow they bring for me.

I am neutered, microchipped, had all my shots, had a dental and am up to date on my heartworm and flea preventives. The only thing I am missing now is my furever family. Could you be who will love me furever? My adoption fee is $175.