Coco's needs: Hello there! My name is Coco. I am a 2-year-old, 15-pound female MinPin/Chi mix (Miniature Pinscher/Chihuahua). I was surrendered to SBRET when my person passed away and no one could care for me. I have a zest for life! I am quite curious and interested in everything. My foster mom says I’m a thinker. If you know MinPins, I definitely got more of those characteristics than the Chihuahua. I’m smart as well as being pretty high strung, that’s the MinPin in me. I am very social with both people and dogs, but need to greet them at my own speed. I don’t like being rushed up on by either humans or dogs but if you let me decide to go up to either, I quickly want to be their friend, however, if I get overwhelmed or surprised, I will squeal. I don’t like anyone grabbing at me fast, so I am not a candidate for families with children under 12, either living in the home or visiting. I’ve gone to several of the SBRET dog walks as well as to a few breweries and did great meeting the other dogs and people.

I am a young, happy and very active little girl, so I need someone to help me expend my energy. I love playing chase in the backyard with my foster siblings and I am super fast! I would make someone a fabulous hiking buddy as well. I nudge the other dogs in the house repeatedly with my nose to get them to play with me, so I would probably annoy an older dog or dogs not interested in playing. I also love to play fetch.

I am my human’s shadow, where they go, I go. I like to always know what’s going on and be in the middle of it. When I’m not running and playing, I like to lie next to my foster mom on the sofa, but I am by no means a couch potato.

I can be annoying to cats. My foster family has a very dog-savvy kitty and he isn’t the least bit afraid of me, even though I keep trying. I have not attempted to bite him ever, but if your cat isn’t savvy, I would probably make them miserable if they ran from me, because I love to chase. So, it’s probably best that I find a home without cats so I don’t spend my days making their days miserable.

I sleep well in my crate at night and when my people leave the house to go do things. I am potty trained both on a leash or in a fenced backyard. For the most part, I only bark when I need to alert you of something. My only grooming requirements are regular nail trims and the occasional bath. I ride in the car for 25 minutes each way, most days with my foster mom, to go to work and I just curl up in my pillow and sleep until we reach our destination.

My foster people think someone fed me people food or at the very least did not discourage my begging when they are eating, so they are working at stopping that behavior. I’m doing better but still need some work on that.

I have been spayed and am up to date on all my shots and flea and heartworm preventives. My adoption fee is $175.

I’m really excited to get started in my new life with my new furever family. Could that be you?