Adoption Pending :)
Adoption Area: East Tennessee

Festus needs: My name is Festus, I am a 5-year-old 10-lb male Chihuahua mix. I am looking for my forever home. I am one of the many little dogs that came from a hoarding case. I came in with horrible skin due to neglect. I now have a beautiful coat after having many baths to help my skin heal. I am a very sweet and shy boy at first who loves to cuddle. It does take time for me to warm up to new people in my life, so I do need my new parents to be patient with me, but I do come around. I enjoy playing with my foster brother and sisters and I would enjoy having another dog in the house. I have learned how to play with the other dogs, and I enjoy playing especially in the morning.

I am learning to sleep in a crate at night, but I would much rather sleep in the big bed. I will paw at the entrance of the crate, but my foster mom talks to me until I fall asleep. I do travel well in a car in a crate or in a booster seat. I will also need someone who will continue to work with me on potty training because I still occasionally have an accident in the house, but I am getting better. I would like to have a fenced yard because I am still learning how to walk on a leash. I have some anxiety issues when left alone; I am not destructive, but I will cry while you are gone. I will not be a good dog in an apartment because I love to alert you to anyone that comes near the house. I am not a big fan of cats. I enjoy barking and growling at the cat in my foster home but I don’t know what to do when I confront her. I do love to eat and I will eat everything that is available. So, I will need someone who will feed me separately from others and ensure I don’t eat everyone’s food.

I will do best with a female caregiver and if there is a man in the house I will need lots of time to warm up to him.

My foster mom says I really am a good boy and that I give the best full body hugs and that I love to cuddle. I would really love a chance to love you. I am neutered, microchipped, fully vaccinated, and I am current on heartworm and flea preventative. My adoption fee is $175.