Adoption Area: East Tennessee

LeRue's Requirements: LeRue here and I’m just going to give it to you straight. I am an active 10-lb male Maltipoo around 11 years old. I am a one woman man… well, umm… dog. I’m looking for my one and only, a single woman who doesn’t have many visitors to the house. My only interest is in one woman that I can lavish my attention and affection on. I have absolutely no interest in anyone outside of that relationship and in fact, am pretty aggressive at letting outsiders know. Not a big fan of other dogs but I do really like the cat in my foster home.

About me, I was found in the rain, in the road and the kind people that picked me up looked for my people. They found them! Sadly, they didn’t want me back. I only lived with them for about a year. Before that, I lived with their neighbor for about 10 years. Not sure what happened to my first family. Anyway, that’s how I ended up in my foster home with SBRET.

The main thing you need to know about me is I REALLY DO NOT LIKE MEN! My foster dad has tried for over a month to get me to love him, but I only tolerate him. It doesn’t matter how hard he tries, I’m not interested in being nice to him. I almost feel sorry for the guy… almost. Sometimes I let him pick me up or pet me, but mostly I just want to be with my lady. In fact, even if my foster dad just moves about the room, I growl and bark at him. Sometimes, I will aggressively go at the ankles of men and some women. So, I really need a home with just my one and only lady living with me.

I was very angry when I came to my foster home. I completely lost my trust in people. I wouldn’t let anyone near me. My foster mom was calm and firm with me and by day 3, I was in love. My new lady will need to be dog savvy and be able to remain calm when I escalate and be firm about what is acceptable behavior and what is not. She will need to be patient with me. I promise that once I trust her and fall in love with her, she will be the center of my universe and I will lavish her with kisses and happy wiggles.

My foster parents take me to patios that are dog friendly and I just yell at everyone that goes by and sometimes try to guard my lady from people and other dogs. They keep trying, but so far, my manners haven’t gotten any better.

I do great with my house training! I walk on a leash. I enjoy going on walks and have no problem walking with other dogs. My foster parents have taken me for walks up to a mile and a half.

I sleep downstairs on the sofa with my foster siblings at night and am fine out with the other dogs whenever the people leave the house. My foster people think I don’t really need or care about the company of other dogs. They say I want to be the alpha dog, but there’s already one of those in their house and sometimes I challenge her. If a dog starts barking, I run and bark in it’s face and am pretty obnoxious about it.

I really like playing with the kitty in the house. He is a lot of fun and we run around and wrestle with each other every day. So, I hope to find a home with a playful kitty.

Everyday, when my foster mom rolls out her yoga mat, I immediately do a down dog on it. She finds that adorable and endearing.

I’ve had a dental, been neutered, microchipped and up to date on all my vaccines and preventives. My adoption fee is $100. Do you love cranky little older men? Are you the lady I get to put on a pedestal?