Adoption Pending :)
Adoption Area: Knoxville/East Tennessee

Molly needs: Hi! My name is Molly. I am a female Shih Tzu mix. I am about 3 years old and weigh 19.6 lbs. with a long body and short legs. Before coming to SBRET, I was being used by a breeder and not in the best environment. I was covered in fleas, had yeasty skin, and had bald patches where I had been chewing on those pesky, itchy flea bites. I am grateful that we have gotten rid of those fleas. I was given some medicated baths and put on medicine for my yeasty skin. I feel much better, but am still a little itchy, so my foster mom gives me some Benadryl to help with that.

My foster parents think that I am a calm, sweet girl who loves attention and getting pets. I want to be where you are, and will follow you around and lie quietly at your feet or sit beside you on the couch. I do bark and whine some when you leave, so I would do best with someone who is home most of the day and I enjoy the company of other small dogs. I am friendly with both people and other dogs, and calm enough that I can be around children 8 years and older. I can be a barker at times, so it's best for me not to be in an apartment or condo.

The best part is that I am housetrained! I walk well on a leash attached to my harness and do my potty fairly quickly. I enjoy short walks and trying to chase squirrels and rabbits, so you need to hold tightly to my leash. I like to wander in a fenced yard, but want you to go with me. I play with toys and especially like the squeaky ones. I ride well in the car, although I will bark until we get going and then settle down for the ride. Since I like to be close to where you are, you need to be watchful when going out a door, as I like to follow you out.

I am food-driven, so I like treats and am a good eater. That being said, you will need to watch my intake to keep me from getting overweight. I was born with my left front leg being bowed, so I walk on the side of my foot with it pointed out. I don't have any problems walking on it now, but the vet said that I should keep my weight down to avoid any problems later in life. There is no surgical fix for it.

I sleep quietly at night in a kennel beside my foster parents’ bed. I didn't like getting in the kennel at first, but now when my foster parents say it's time to go to bed, I get in my kennel and settle right down. Last night, I took a toy with me to keep me company.

I am up to date on my vaccines, microchipped, and spayed. I got a dental done and had 4 teeth pulled. I am on heartworm and flea prevention. My adoption fee is $175. I hope that you will consider adopting me into your family!