Olive's Requirements: Hello All! My name is Olive. I’m a lovable, tan/black, female Yorkie/Chi mix. I’m 5 years old and at my last weigh-in I was 7.2 lbs. Once I get past the anxiety of meeting new humans, I am very much a lap dog and a bit on the needy side. I love attention. At this point, I don’t play with other dogs or toys.

When surrendered to the shelter, I was terrified, so SBRET was called and took me so I could be in a home right away. For the first couple of days with my foster family, I was still very scared. They put me in an indoor X-pen to give me the time needed to feel safe. On the 3rd day I surprised my foster mom, by walking out of the X-pen and jumping onto her lap. Since that day, I have never gone back to the X-pen. My safe place now is on one of my people’s lap.

When checked out by SBRET’s vet, I was in good health, other than being maybe a pound underweight and needing a nail trim and dental. The vet removed 8 of my teeth, but no worries, I have lots left and it doesn’t affect my chewing. I’m still not the best eater though. My foster parents are adding canned food to my kibble hoping to peak my interest in food. It has helped.

I was not potty trained when first coming to my foster family. I’m not even sure I’d ever been out on the grass before. Being outside scared me. I’ve gotten more confident though, and proud to say I’ve had no potty accidents in the last couple of weeks. I need to be taken out every few hours though. Because of my uneasiness with being outside, I’m still not the best at walking on a leash but I’ve improved a lot. If you don't have fenced yard, I will need multiple potty walks each day, and then one before bedtime at night. I don’t like crates, but would be good in one for 2-3 hours during the day, though I might whine for a bit due to separation anxiety. At night, I can’t do crates or dog beds. I need to be in the big bed under the blankets next to my person. I am OK on car rides, but again, I get anxious when crated.

I need a forever family where someone is home at least part of the day to help me with my potty training, and who has the time to give me lots of love and attention. Children are OK if over 12. I prefer having a human to myself, but I think I’d be OK with another calm dog. I’m spayed, microchipped and had all appropriate vaccines. I’m also up to date on heartworm and flea protection. If you are looking for a sweet and lovable girl to cuddle with this winter, contact SBRET and ask for Olive. My adoption fee is $175.