Adoption Pending :)
Peanut needs: Hi, my name is Peanut. I am a sweet 5-year-old, 8.5-pound, male Chihuahua. I was very close to my previous owner, but he passed away, so I am looking for my new person to love me and accept all this love I have to give.

I tend to get anxious when I am left alone, so I need my person to be home with me most of the time or take me with them when they leave the house. When left alone for a short time, I may just sit in one place and wait quietly for you, but for longer periods of time, or if there are loud noises like thunder, fireworks, or loud trucks, I may bark a lot until you get home. To keep such barking from bothering neighbors too much, my forever home needs to be a separate house, rather than an apartment.

It takes me some time to warm up to new people and if you try to push me too fast, I will get nervous and growl. Since I need time to get accustomed to new people before being petted, and because I get nervous around sudden or loud sounds, I need a relatively quiet home with no children.

In my previous home, I lived with another dog and we got along well. As long as I am not pushed too quickly to get along with them, and as long as the other dog is a relatively calm dog, I think I could be happy living with another dog again, but I would also be happy being an only dog.

Like a lot of Chihuahuas, I spend most of my time sleeping. At night, I expect to be able to sleep in bed with my person, mostly under the covers, right next to them (and I snore). During the day, I occasionally like to play by doing things like chasing my person around a fenced yard, or up and down a hallway in the house (I’m told that I have a cute smile on my face when I run), but mostly I like to follow my person around and lie down on or near them when they sit. I also enjoy going for short walks, going on outings in the car, and napping in the sun (inside and outside).

I am mostly housebroken, as long as I am taken outside for a walk about every 2-3 hours during the day. I sleep great all night without needing to go out. I will likely have occasional accidents in the house early on until I adjust to new surroundings and a new schedule, so you may want to confine me to a certain part of the house at first, such as the kitchen, especially if/when you leave me alone. I am not accustomed to using potty pads.

I have been neutered and microchipped, am up-to-date with my vaccinations, heartworm and flea/tick prevention, and had a dental exam in February that led to ten teeth being removed. I am not on any medications. I have a tiny bump on my abdomen, but the vet has checked it out and says it is a fat pocket that does not need any treatment and is nothing to worry about.

If you are looking for a constant, affectionate companion and think you have the perfect forever home for me, please contact SBRET. My adoption fee is $175.