Adoption Area: East Tennessee

Pippin needs: Who’s ready to have some fun!! Hi everybody. I’m Pippin. I am a spayed female chihuahua/terrier mix puppy, about 4 months old and currently weigh 7.2 pounds. I was surrendered by a family who could not take care of me, so I found my way to SBRET.

My favorite thing to do is play with my stuffed toys, especially the ones that squeak. I love chasing my ball and will bring it back to you to throw again. Foster mom and dad think I’m funny and laugh at my antics all the time! They play with me some, and sometimes I play by myself and I end up taking a nap. Foster mom puts me and my toys in my play pen beside her while she works, and I settle down after a few protests.

At night I sleep all night beside their bed in my big crate. I don’t have accidents in my crate at night and am in there about 7 hours. I potty on pee pads in the house most of the time and will wander off alone to take care of business, although it is nice to have pee pads in different rooms in case I get distracted while playing. I don’t mind going outside if it’s not too cold and of course you go with me. I still need some work in this area but I am doing really well for my age.

I am used to being on a leash when outside but I haven’t been on any walks yet because it is not safe for me since I am not fully vaccinated. I’m good in the car inside my little crate and usually go to sleep on rides. My hair is short and smooth – I don’t foresee any special grooming needs. I was with other dogs before being surrendered to SBRET so I probably would enjoy a buddy but it is not a requirement.

My vet said I’m a healthy, active puppy! Because I’m a puppy, I need someone at home most of the day to continue my potty and other training. I will chew on everything within reach, so please have plenty of toys and nylon bones for me to play with. I will require gentle consistent correction and lots of positive reinforcement. And of course, lots of exercise because you know a good puppy is a tired puppy!

I have been spayed, microchipped, and am current on age-appropriate vaccines as well as flea and heartworm preventives. My adoption fee is $175.