Adoption Pending :)
Adoption Area: East Tennessee

Poppy needs: Hi, my name is Poppy. I am a 16-pound, 7-year-old, male Havanese mix. I came to SBRET from a shelter, and they started me on the road to my new home. I have done well in foster care, settling in quickly and getting along with my foster people and foster fur sister. I am a very sweet and loving boy who craves attention. I need to be near where you are, content to lie at your feet or in a nearby pet bed. If you get up to leave the room, I will hop up to go with you. I do have some mild separation anxiety, so I will do best in a home with someone who is home most of the day. I enjoy having the company of another small dog when you do have to go out.

I am working on my housetraining and do well if taken out on a regular schedule several times a day. I was not neutered before coming into foster care, which means that I have a tendency to want to mark. I am currently sporting a belly band and each day I have gotten better on waiting to go outside to do my business. I am a good eater and am not food aggressive. I love to go for walks and walk well on a leash. When my foster mom puts on her coat and reaches for a leash I know it means that we are going out and I get really excited. I will sit still for her to attach the leash and off we go. I also enjoy being able to run and play in a secure fenced yard, but have on occasion been noted to dig, so I will need to be supervised. I sleep quietly all night in a kennel beside my foster parents’ bed. When we go up for bedtime, I will usually get in my kennel on my own. When I went to the groomers, they said that I did great and behaved like a perfect gentleman.

When I had my checkup, the vet found that I had an ear infection in my left ear, which I am currently being treated for. I also have a grade 2 heart murmur which needs no current treatment, but will need to be monitored. I am up to date on my vaccines and have been neutered and microchipped. I am on heartworm and flea prevention. My forever home needs to have someone home most of the day and/or a fur buddy to keep me company when you are out. Children in the home should be 8 years or older. I will need regular grooming, as my fur gets matted when it gets too long. I hope that you will consider giving me a forever home. My adoption fee is $175.