Adoption Pending :)
Adoption Area: Knoxville/East Tennessee

Rosie needs: Hi! My name is Rosie. I am a 16-pound, 6-year-old, female Shih Tzu mix. I came from a shelter to SBRET, so my history is a mystery. Before coming into foster care, I was treated for my itchy, yeasty skin, spayed and given my vaccines. My skin now looks much better and my fur has come back in. I am a very sweet girl, who rarely barks, and I get along well with people and other dogs. I love to play with my toys, but also like napping in my bed. Following you around and lying at your feet or sitting beside you on the couch is also a favorite pastime. I crave attention and belly rubs. I give great doggie kisses and snuggles, too.

My housetraining is going great, but to avoid accidents I should be taken out on a regular basis. I walk on a leash, but am in no hurry as I plod along taking my time to sniff every plant that we pass. So if you want a companion on walks to get exercise, that is not me! A secure, fenced yard would be great, too. I sleep quietly at night in a kennel beside my foster parents' bed, but when they get up, I am ready to get out of my kennel. My foster mom discovered that I don't go up or down stairs, but I can do a step or two. I am a great eater and am food motivated. My foster mom is measuring my food and watching my intake, as I need to lose a couple pounds.

When I had my vet check, I was found to be healthy, except that I have grade 2 luxating patellas (kneecaps that slip out of place). I currently am not experiencing any problems from this and surgery was not necessary. To keep problems from developing in the future, I need to avoid being overweight and should not be jumping up and down off of furniture. I have dry eye which requires prescription drops to be used a couple times a day.

It would be best for me to be in a home where there is another small dog or someone home most of the day. A home with children over 8 years old would be great. I am current on my vaccines, spayed, and microchipped and on heartworm and flea prevention. My adoption fee is $175.