Rusty's Requirements:
- Adult home or one with children over 12
- No other pets in the home
- No apartments

Hi! I'm Rusty! I'm a 6-year-old, 16-pound male Border Terrier mix with the most adorable underbite. My favorite activities are playing fetch, chewing on squeaker toys, and cuddling with my humans. I'm energetic, but very loving. I would love a home where someone would enjoy playing with me or taking me for walks, and then cuddling up on the couch for hours. I'm a great snuggler!

My previous family tried so hard to keep me with them because they loved me so much, but unfortunately I just did not get along with their other dog and cats. Small children scare me, so I would do best in a home without children under 12. I'm looking for a home where I can be the only pet, and I know I will be the perfect fit for someone who is looking for an incredible companion.

I am potty trained and haven't used the bathroom inside the house in 8+ months, but please be patient with me as I adjust to a new home. I am anxious and get really attached to my humans, so I will likely need some time to transition. It's important when you take me outside to potty that you go outside with me, otherwise I will be more concerned with coming back inside than using the bathroom! I am crate-trained, but I would prefer a home where my people aren't gone too much.

I am in overall great health, but you should be aware of some things. Because of my anxiety, I am on daily pills that really help me relax. I can be very pesty for attention without the medication. I do not get destructive when you have to leave me and will stay in a crate. I would prefer to be in a home where someone is home at least part of the day. If you decide to take me off these pills, you'll need to wean me off very, very slowly. Please work with your vet before you do this.

I also have a thing called Border Terrier Cramping Syndrome, also known as canine epileptoid cramping syndrome. This is a hereditary disease that means occasionally I might have a cramping episode where I have trouble walking and might shake for a few minutes. My vet has assured me these are not seizures- and while they are uncomfortable, they are not life-threatening and do not require medical care. The good news is that these episodes are rare and they are even less common now that I'm on gluten-free food as a preventative. I only had four of these episodes in the last year and am back to my normal self in a few minutes. Just so you know, stress and medication change can be a trigger.

I've been neutered, had all my shots, am on flea and heartworm preventative, am microchipped, and had my teeth cleaned last year. I'm missing a few teeth but I think it just makes me cuter.

I've never chewed up anything that wasn't a dog toy. I'm very easy to give a bath. One of my cutest traits is that I love to sleep completely under the covers. I'm a great traveler and love the time I've spent at the beach and in the mountains. I loved playing in the waves! I don't shed very much, but would appreciate a trim occasionally!

I know I can make a very special family out there so happy. Honestly, they will be lucky to have me! I am so, so lovable and probably one of the cutest dogs you've ever seen. My adoption fee is $175.