Sonia's Requirements:

➢ Quiet adult home with some experience with shy dogs.
➢ A small dog friend to show me the ropes and help me feel more secure.
➢ A very secure fenced yard.
➢ Someone home part of the day to take me outside to potty.

Would you like to be loved and accepted just the way you are? Me too!! I am a very sweet and affectionate 2-year-old female Chihuahua and weigh just a little over 7 pounds. When I first meet people, I am extremely shy, in fact, downright terrified. But once I know you and trust you, I have a whole lot of love to share. I am long and thin and look incredibly svelte. Being this small, you will want to double check your fence. I am a bit of an escape artist and I don’t need a very big opening. I am so long and lean it is hard to find a harness I can’t wriggle out of. And don’t even get me started on doggy clothes!! That is just not my thing.

But let’s not focus on the negatives. I have nice manners. I am not a chow hound; I would never gobble my food. I like to stay neat and clean. I am not pushy or terribly needy. I usually like to sleep in my own bed under my blanket but may occasionally take up residence with you in the big bed if it is thundering. You could almost compare my behavior to that of a cat. I would prefer you let me come to you – I will let you know when I want to be close to you. When the weather is nice, I have a lot of fun running and playing outside in a very securely fenced yard. I get along well with other dogs and need to have another small dog or two to play with and help show me the ropes. I don’t know if I would or would not like cats, so I will withhold judgement until I’ve met a cat.

I almost always step outside to do my business and will use a piddle pad if I can’t access the yard. Please keep in mind though that any dog might revert a bit with potty training when they are in a new environment. I’m not usually very vocal, though I will bark if I think I need to alert you to a situation. And I have a pretty loud voice for a little dog!

I had a bit of a rough start in life. Someone was not very kind to me and it has made me very shy and anxious. I am distrustful of people until I get to know them. I can’t explain why I am so afraid of leashes (or cords, or ropes of any sort) but if you want to take me for walkies, we are going to have to work on that together. I do not like loud noises or raised voices, so I prefer a quiet environment.

If you know (or are) an introvert, then you will probably understand me. If you are the kind of person who can be patient and give me some time to warm up to you and my new surroundings, then I would like to meet you. I have been spayed and microchipped. I am up to date on all of my vaccinations including flea, tick, and heartworm preventative. I have no medical issues that I am aware of and my adoption fee is $175.