Adoption Area: Knoxville/East Tennessee

Tuscany needs: Hi! I’m Tuscany, a 12-pound, 12-year-old senior female maybe Lhasa Apso mix. When I came to SBRET, I was in pretty bad shape. I had skin infections, bad teeth, and the little fur I had was matted. I was also extremely scared of people. My skin is much better now. I also had a dental and lost 14 teeth!

I am still nervous around people though. I trust my foster mom more and more by the day, but my new family will need to be very patient with me. You see I was used for breeding most of my life and I am a little uncomfortable with hands reaching out to me. I will continue to get better about that as I have improved in my foster home. I do not get snippy at all - I may just turn away. Sometimes I like having the area above my tail rubbed. I just was not treated in a very loving kind way before Rescue.

Even though I’m scared and haven’t been treated the best previously, I like to follow my foster mom around, only when I’m not sleeping that is. I spend most of my time snuggled on the couch. I like to be on the same couch as my foster family, but not right next to them.

I’m not great on a leash, but I’m getting better. I prefer to wander around a fenced backyard. I like to walk around a fenced backyard with my foster mom. It’s like we are going for walks together, but without a leash.

When my foster mom leaves me, I stay in a crate. I am very quiet and just sleep the whole time. I do prefer someone home most of the day though. Afterall, I deserve it for my retirment days!

I have played with a toy once or twice in my foster home, but being calm and napping is more my speed. I get along OK with the other calm dogs in my foster home but do not really interact with them.

I am doing well with my house training, but that doesn’t mean I won’t have an accident while adjusting to my forever home.

I am just a sweet, quiet girl looking for someone to love me and give me a nice, quiet comfortable home for my retirement years.

I am spayed, up-to-date on vaccinations as well as heartworm and flea/tick preventatives. My adoption fee is $100.