Zara needs: Hi, I’m Zara, a 12-year-old, 13-pound female spayed Shih-Tzu mix. I am both a blind and deaf senior female. I came from a shelter and had a skin infection, eye infection, ear infection and a growth on my leg when I came into rescue but all have been treated. The growth on my leg was totally removed and it came back non-cancerous so I should not have any problems in the future. However it was a large growth and it has affected my walking just a bit — I am just a bit of a slow walker with a wonky gait. I receive prescription eye drops as well as over-the-counter wetting drops for both eyes as they don’t produce quite as much tears as they should. I also have a cherry eye in one eye but it is not causing me any problems and due to my age the veterinarian did not want to repair it. I’m not a real active girl and would prefer a low-key home. I like to sleep all day on the couch with my blankie and I love to get my ears and neck scratched. Due to my vision issues I need help finding my food and water dish. In my foster home I am potty trained and will wait to go potty until someone can take me outside. I love to be outside, so a fenced yard would be nice to wander around but not necessary since I can walk on a leash, but I am very slow because I like to smell everything. I am good with all animals and I have been around other dogs and a cat with no issues.

I am a quiet dog unless I am crated. I do not like to be confined and will bark until I am let out of a crate or x-pen if placed in one. When left alone and at night I sleep on the couch because it is my favorite spot with my favorite blankie. I will require professional grooming about every 6-8 weeks. I do not like car rides because I need to be in a crate so I don’t wander around inside the car and hurt myself — I also do not like being tethered in a doggie car seat. I will bark the entire car ride if I am put in a crate.

If you are looking for a low maintenance and low energy dog, I’m your girl. I can be your tv buddy all day every day if needed. I have been spayed, microchipped, and am current on vaccines and heartworm/flea prevention. My adoption fee is $100.